Award Winners



2024 Beatrice Rosenberg Award
for Excellence in Government Service
Paul M. Geier
U.S. Department of Transportation


2024 Thurgood Marshall Award
For Commitment and Initiative in Pursuing Equal Justice
and Opportunity for All Americans

John Brittain
University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law 


2024 D.C. Bar Annual Award Recipients

The following awardees advanced the legal

profession or assisted District residents and organizations in need through exemplary pro bono service.


Frederick B. Abramson Award
Amended DCCA Rules Governing the Bar


Community of the Year Award
D.C. Bar Environment, Energy and Natural Resources Community


Voluntary Bar Association of the Year
LGBTQ+ Bar Association of the District of Columbia


Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP


Laura N. Rinaldi Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year
John E. McCarthy Jr.
Crowell & Morning LLP


To show your public support for the 2024 D.C. Bar award winners, join the Celebration of Leadership Host Committee.